This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Creating Application Shortcuts

Mar 4, 2014 at 8:15 PM
Hi Christopher

I'll start by saying I'm a newbie to WIX and found your IsWix project yesterday simply because I thought a GUI interface might make things a bit easier to figure out. I watched your "Packaging a Windows Service" video which helped me greatly in getting my application packaged up (a short video on a "Hello World" application would be very helpful ;) ).

I'm now fine-tuning things and cannot figure out how to create a shortcut to the program on the Start Menu. I see in your source that you have a Shortcut designer but even after selecting each of the files in the project I never see the shortcut designer as an option. Am I totally missing something?
Coordinator
Mar 4, 2014 at 8:20 PM
Sorry, several designers (including shortcuts) were stubbed out but never finished. (Hence the blue traffic cone icon for under construction ). First use IsWiX to author your EXE dir/comp/file relationship. Then mark up the rest by hand. For an example of what that should look like take a look at: https://iswix.codeplex.com/SourceControl/latest#main/Source/Installer/IsWiXMM/IsWiXMM.wxs
Mar 4, 2014 at 8:28 PM
Thank you. I was just looking at the source here on Codeplex so I didn't see the traffic cone. I'll take a look at the file you linked to.

Thanks for the help.
Coordinator
Mar 4, 2014 at 10:04 PM
Edited Mar 4, 2014 at 10:11 PM